POROI publishes a special, guest-edited issue on the work of Alan G. Gross. Click here to view the issue now.


New ARST award winners announced for the 2013 year. Visit the Ploeger Memorial Award and Article of the Year pages for more information. All winners were recognized at the ARST business meeting at NCA.


Position papers and response papers written for the Vicentennial Celebration are now available in a special issue of POROI: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Rhetorical Analysis and Invention. Check it out here.


Do you have news you would like to share with your fellow ARST members? Email updates to be posted to

Are you on our mailing list? If not and you would like to subscribe, click here!

POROI special issue

ARST Oral History Project



POROI Volume 10, Number 2 proudly presents a special, guest-edited issue devoted to the work of Alan G. Gross on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of The Rhetoric of Science, his seminal work in this field.


The issue opens with an Introduction by guest editors David Beard and Sara Newman.  It is followed by an ARST interview with Alan Gross conducted by the Association for Rhetoric of Science and Technology (ARST) and by a never before published paper by Thomas Kuhn about the very idea of rhetoric of inquiry.  Kuhn’s paper is introduced and contextualized by Edward Schiappa.


Also included are thirteen papers by a variety of authors on four aspects of Gross’s work:  Rhetoric of Science and Its Epistemology, Visual Rhetoric, the Rhetoric of Museum Displays, and the History of Rhetorical Theory.  Contributors, some of whom give recollections of their collaboration with Alan Gross, include: William Keith, William White, Randy Harris, Nathan Crick, Nathan Johnson, Joseph Harmon, Jeanne Fahnestock, Heather Graves, Gregory Schneider-Bateman, Mariko Izumi, Arthur Walzer, Bill Morris, and Chris McCracken.


The issue ends with a complete bibliography of the works of Alan G. Gross.


Interviews from the ARST Oral History Project are available for viewing on the ARST YouTube Channel. The ARST Oral History Project features interviews with the following individuals:


David Berube                         John Angus Campbell

Leah Ceccarelli                      Celeste Condit                               

David Depew                          Jeanne Fahnestock

Alan Gross                             Randy Harris

Carl Herndl                            Lisa Keränen

John Lynch                             John Lyne

Carolyn Miller                       Lawrence Prelli

Judy Segal                             Greg Wilson

James Wynn


Thanks to Damien Pfister and his crew for all their hard work on the Oral History project and making these rich resources available to all of us.



Call for Submissions for NCA 2015

Submissions Open: Mon, 1/19 2015 12:00 AM EDT

Submissions Close: Thu, 3/26 2015 3:00 AM EDT


The Association for the Rhetoric of Science and Technology (ARST) invites submission of individual papers, paper sessions, and panel discussions for the 2015 NCA convention. Submissions may cover any area of the rhetoric of science and technology, including but not limited to the rhetorical analysis and critique of (1) scientific and technological texts, practices, and genres; (2) the production, deployment, invocation, and contestation of scientific ideas and technological visions in political, professional or disciplinary, and literary or social contexts (e.g., policy debates, scientific controversies, popular culture); and (3) discourses of reason and rationality, including reflexive engagement with the rhetoric of science as a field.


For full details and submission instructions, click here for the full Call for Papers.


© 2013 ARST All rights reserved